Bristol Education

Bristol's two major institutions of higher education are the University of Bristol, a "redbrick" chartered in 1909, and the University of the West of England (UWE), formerly Bristol Polytechnic, which gained university status in 1992.

The city also has two dedicated further education institutions, City of Bristol College and Filton College, plus three theological colleges, Trinity College, Wesley College and Bristol Baptist College.

Bristol is also home to 129 infant, junior and primary schools, 17 secondary schools and three city learning centres.

Bristol has England's second highest concentration of independent school places, after an exclusive corner of north London. These schools include Colston's School, Clifton College, Clifton High School, Badminton School, Bristol Cathedral School, Bristol Grammar School, Redland High School, Queen Elizabeth's Hospital (the only all-boys school) and Red Maids' School (reportedly England's oldest girls' school, founded in 1634).